Advance research

In what areas the in vitro models can help the researchers to move forward?

1

 

CYSTIC FIBROSIS

 

Cystic fibrosis is a genetic disease whose treatment has not yet been found. New drugs have been developed which improve the health of cystic fibrosis patients. Reconstituted in vitro human epithelial models contribute significantly to the development of these new drugs, since the respiratory system is the most affected organ by this disease. In fact, in the patients with cystic fibrosis, the mucus in the airways are very viscous and sticky which cannot be cleared by mucociliary clearance. As consequence, the clogged airways are infected and colonized by microbes, leading to chronic inflammation. This phenomenon is reproduced in in vitro lung tissues, making it possible to test the efficacy of the drugs or gene therapy to restore mucociliary function.

2

 

ASTHMA, ALLERGY

 

Although asthma is an inflammatory disease, symptoms often occur mainly at the respiratory level. Indeed, for asthmatic patients, the epithelium is altered and weakened. Because lung epithelial cells also communicate with immune cells, infection of the respiratory epithelium by microbes contributes to the exacerbation of asthma. In vitro respiratory tissues allow to test new therapeutic approaches, such as new local anti-inflammatory drugs. The epithelium is a very effective and promising immuno-regulator for detecting new allergens. Its use can allow to detect and identify potential allergens.

3

 

CHRONIC OBSTRUCTIVE PULMONARY DISEASE

 

 

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) is characterized by progressive degeneration of lung tissue and obstruction of the airways. In vitro lung tissue can be used to model metaplasia and to visualize deregulated markers in COPD patients.

4

 

BACTERIAL INFECTIONS 

 

Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Streptococcus pneumonia, Staphylococcus aureus, these bacteria can infect the respiratory system through inhalation. Infection with these bacteria is considered as a serious health concern by the World Health Organization. So, it is necessary and urgent to develop new antibiotics to overcome the problem of antibiotic-resistance. Human respiratory tissues, being the first target of bacteria, is an efficient platform to test the efficacy of new antibiotics.

5

 

VIRAL INFECTIONS 

 

Many viruses are capable of infecting the respiratory epithelium, including influenza, rhinovirus, syncytial respiratory virus, coronavirus, metapneumovirus, etc. These viruses enter the cells through receptors and replicate inside the pulmonary tissues. In vitro airway tissues are very powerful research tools to study the mechanism and mode of action of viral infection and thus it helps us to develop new antiviral drugs.

6

 

IMPACT OF AIR POLLUTANTS

 

Respiratory tissues are the first line of defense against the air pollutants. The acute but also chronic local effect, such as inflammatory, cytotoxic or remodeling effect of these inhaled substances can be observed and quantified using in vitro lung models.

CONTACT US

Nous contacter

Faire avancer la recherche

Quelles applications ?

1

 

MUCOVISCIDOSE

 

La mucoviscidose est une maladie génétique grave pour laquelle aucun traitement curatif n’a encore été trouvé. Après des décennies de recherche, des nouveaux médicaments ont été développés, qui améliorent sensiblement la santé des patients atteints de la mucoviscidose. Les modèles d’épithéliums humains reconstitués in vitro contribuent fortement au développement de ces nouveaux médicaments, le système respiratoire étant l’organe le plus touché par cette maladie. En effet, chez les patients atteints de mucoviscidose, l’épithélium respiratoire secrète un mucus très visqueux et collant qui encombre la voie aérienne, entraînant une infection et une inflammation chronique. Ce phénomène est reproduit sur les tissus de poumons reconstitués in vitro, permettant ainsi de tester l’efficacité de médicaments ou approches de thérapie génique pour restaurer la fonction de clairance.

2

 

ASTHME, ALLERGIES

 

Bien que l’asthme soit une maladie inflammatoire, les symptômes se manifestent souvent et principalement au niveau respiratoire. En effet, chez les patients asthmatiques, l’épithélium est fragilisé. Comme le tissu pulmonaire communique aussi avec les cellules immunitaires, l’infection de l’épithélium respiratoire par des microbes contribue à une exacerbation de l’asthme. Les tissus in vitro respiratoire permettent de tester de nouvelles approches thérapeutiques, en d’autres termes, de nouveaux médicaments anti-inflammatoires locaux. L’épithélium est un immuno-régulateur très efficace et prometteur pour détecter de nouveaux allergènes. Ainsi, il est possible d’identifier des allergènes potentiels.

3

 

BRONCHITE OBSTRUCTIVE CHRONIQUE

 

 

La bronchite obstructive chronique (BPCO) est caractérisée par une dégénérescence progressive des tissus pulmonaires ainsi qu’une obstruction des voies respiratoires. Les tissus in vitro pulmonaires sont utilisables dans des modèles de métaplasie ou pour visualiser les marqueurs dérégulés pour les patients BPCO.

4

 

INFECTIONS BACTÉRIENNES

 

Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Streptococcus pneumonia, Staphylococcus aureus, ces bactéries peuvent infecter l’organisme par la voie aérienne. L’infection par ces bactéries est décrite comme préoccupante par l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé. Il est donc nécessaire et urgent de développer de nouveaux antibiotiques pour faire face aux problèmes de résistances. Les tissus respiratoires humains, étant les premières cibles des bactéries, peuvent être utilisés comme plateforme pour tester l’efficacité de nouveaux antibiotiques.

5

 

INFECTIONS VIRALES

 

De nombreux virus sont capables d’infecter l’épithélium respiratoire, entre autres la grippe, les rhinovirus, le virus respiratoire syncitial, le coronavirus, les métapneumovirus, etc. Ces virus entrent dans les cellules par des récepteurs et se répliquent à l’intérieur du tissu pulmonaire. Les tissus in vitro pulmonaires sont des outils de recherche très puissants pour étudier le mécanisme d’action de l’infection et ainsi développer de nouvelles approches antivirales.

6

 

IMPACT DES POLLUANTS ATHMOSPHÉRIQUES

 

Les tissus respiratoires sont la première ligne de défense de l’organisme lorsque l’on respire des polluants atmosphériques. L’effet local aigu mais aussi chronique, aussi bien inflammatoire, cytotoxique ou de remodelage de ces substances inhalées, peut être observé et quantifié en utilisant des modèles pulmonaires in vitro.